Reference Databases
Premium Online Resources
Below you'll find a subset of the databases that we subscribe to or get through the Michigan eLibrary. Be sure to view the full list to see all the resources available.
- Ancestry Library Edition is the premier web site for genealogical information. (In-Library Use Only)
- Business and Company Resource Center provides researchers with information on companies, markets and industries. From market trends, mergers, and acquisitions to current management theory and company overviews.
- Chilton Library represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make, and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.
- Health and Wellness Resource Center provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Thomson Gale reference titles.
- HeritageQuest includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 22,000 digitized book titles, including early family histories and local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records and more.
- InfoTrac Newsstand is a collection of full text newspapers from around the Country and the World. Includes the last 12 months of the New York Times and the Grand Rapids Press (1996-current)
- LearningExpress provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons, students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.
- SIRS Discoverer - Recommended for: K-9. All full-text. A children's database of articles, books, video, audio on all topics. The interface is appropriate to children and includes reading levels, teacher's help pages, and more.
Selected Internet Resources
Topics
- Almanacs and General Facts
- Calendars and Time
- Colleges and Universities
- Consumer Information
- Directories (Business and People)
- Electronic Books
- Encyclopedias
- Entertainment
- Finance
- Genealogy
- Health and Wellness
- Internet Directories
- Legal Resources
- Libraries and Special Collections
- Michigan Government Information
- Science
- Statistics
- U.S. Government Information
- Weather
- Other
Almanacs and General Facts [back to top]
- CIA World Factbook
- Country Studies - from the Library of Congress
- Infoplease
Calendars and Time [back to top]
- Calendar Zone Calendars of Different World Cultures
- World Clock Time Zones
Colleges and Universities [back to top]
- CollegeNET - Provides basic information about colleges and universities in the U.S.
- FinAid - Student guide to financial aid
- Best College Major for Careers - based on the 2010 Census Data
Consumer Information [back to top]
- U.S. Consumer Action Web Site
- Consumer Reports - some free information, some subscription only
- Kelley Blue Book - New car pricing, used car values
Directories (Business and People) [back to top]
Electronic Books [back to top]
- The University of Virginia Electronic Text Center - Approximately 70,000 on- and off-line humanities texts in thirteen languages, with more than 350,000 related images.
- The Online Books Page - a web site at the University of Pennsylvania that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet.
- Project Gutenburg - an archive of more than 13,000 free electronic books.
- OverDrive - BDL Library patrons may check out free ebooks!
Encyclopedias [back to top]
Entertainment [back to top]
- Internet Movie Database
- FreeDB - Audio CD index
Finance [back to top]
- AnnualCreditReport.com
- Bankrate - wide variety of financial information
- CD Deposit Rates Exchange - Compare Deposit Interest Rates Worldwide
- Quote.com - Stock information
- Foreign Exchange Currency Converter
Genealogy [back to top]
Health and Wellness [back to top]
- NIH Clinical Alerts and Advisories
- MedlinePlus
- National Cancer Institute
- PubMed Central
- ClinicalTrials.gov - provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers.
- Internet Drug Index
- HealthFinder - a Service of the National Health Information Center
- Kid's Health
Internet Directories [back to top]
- MeL Subject Gateways (No logon required) - A collection of sites on the Internet, selected by experts in their fields and organized by subject.
- Yahoo! Directory
- Google Directory
- The Open Directory Project
Legal Resources [back to top]
- FindLaw
- Legal Dictionary
- U.S. Legal Forms
- American Bar Association's LawInfo
- Occupational Safety and Health Administration
- Equal Employment Oppotunity Commission
Libraries and Special Collections [back to top]
- ibiblio - An online public library and digital archive.
- The Library of Congress
- The Smithsonian Institution
- The Public Library of Science
- Making of America - a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, located at the University of Michigan.
- The Internet Archive
- The New York Public Library Digital Gallery
- Digital Projects at the Detroit Public Library
Michigan Government Information [back to top]
- Publius - Michigan Voter information and registration
- State of Michigan
- Michigan Works
- Michigan Legislature
- Michigan Public Sex Offender Registry
- Michigan Department of Natural Resources
Science [back to top]
- EurekAlert - "The premier web site for science news since 1996."
- Hubble Space Telescope Pictures
Statistics [back to top]
- Kids Count Annual Data Book - from the Annie E. Casie Foundation
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- Guide to state statistical abstracts
- FedStats - gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. governmental agencies
- UNESCO Statistics
- Statistical Resources on the Web - a comprehensive list from the University of Michigan
- State Health Facts
U.S. Government Information [back to top]
- FirstGov - The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
- Federal Citizen Information Center
- GPO Access - Portal to U.S. government publications
- 50States.com - basic information on all 50 states and their capitals
- National Technical Information Service
- Tax Forms for all states
- Thomas - U.S. legislative information
- U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
- Medicare
Weather [back to top]
Other [back to top]
- The Quotations Page - famous quotations
- How Stuff Works
- Great Web Sites for Kids - from the American Library Association
- FindArticles - a vast archive of published articles that you can search for free. Constantly updated, it contains articles dating back to 1998 from more than 300 magazines and journals.
- Citation Style for Research Papers - comparison of APA, MLA, Chicago, Turabian, and AMA citation styles
- Avoiding Plagiarism/Citation Guide







